1936 Personnel (UK)

Squadron Command

Commanding Officer:Squadron Leader C.W. Hill
02/10/1936: Handed over to Squadron Leader AG Thackray


No. of Commissioned Officers (Air Crew)Not Recorded
No. of Non Commissioned Air CrewNot Recorded
No. of Commissioned Officers (Ground)Not Recorded
No. of Non Commissioned Other Ranks (Ground)Not Recorded

The following are known to have been on strength of (or attached to) the squadron (in the UK) in 1936:

Commissioned Officer (Air Crew)

  • George Reid Boles
  • Michael Henry deLisle Everest
  • Clifton Winnington Grannum
  • Frank E Groce
  • Cedric Waters Hill
  • William Alfred Howell
  • Hugh Harold Allan Ironside
  • Gordon Addison Hope Kent
  • Reginald H Nash
  • Patrick Rodger Patrick
  • William James Pond
  • Philip Hall Richmond
  • Albert George Thackray
  • Richard Neville Wardell

Non Commissioned Air Crew

  • [-] Adair
  • AG Boggis
  • [-] Flynn
  • Reginald Charles George Harman
  • Ronald John Neil MacLachlan
  • Thomas Eric Moon
  • H Powell

Commissioned Officer (Ground)

  • Charles Abbott Ball
  • Eric Arthur Biddle

Ground Personnel

The squadron’s record book contains little or no information regarding Commissioned Officers or Non Commissioned Other Ranks that were on strength of the squadron during the year who carried out:

  • Daily servicing, ongoing maintenance and scheduled servicing of squadron aircraft and equipment
  • Other squadron related technical and administrative duties (such as Logistics, Air Operations Support, Intelligence, Administration and Personnel / Medical support)

More information can be found on the following page

– Ground Personnel 1929 to 1940 –