1933 Personnel

Squadron Command

Commanding OfficerSquadron Leader HMK Brown
08/03/1933: Handed over to Squadron Leader JF Gordon DFC
05/05/1933: Handed over to Squadron Leader V Buxton OBE


No. of Commissioned Officers (Air Crew)Not Recorded
No. of Non Commissioned Air CrewNot Recorded
No. of Commissioned Officers (Ground)Not Recorded
No. of Non Commissioned Other Ranks (Ground)Not Recorded

The following are known to have been on strength of (or attached to) the squadron in 1933:

Commissioned Officer (Air Crew)

  • Leonard Shaw Meadows Bailey
  • Albert W Bates
  • Alfred V Bax
  • Hugh M K Brown
  • Vincent Buxton
  • Patrick D Carden
  • AC Drew
  • Alfred Earle
  • John A Elliot
  • Noel Foster-Packer
  • John F Gordon
  • Robert R Greenlaw
  • William M Hargreaves
  • [-] Harris
  • Augustus A Jones
  • DJ Lee
  • Alan Creswell Martin
  • Reginald H Nash
  • Clair F Newcombe
  • John Humphrey Ridding Oldfield
  • Herbert Leonard Patch
  • William James Pond
  • William Joseph Scott
  • Eric T Smith
  • Donald C Stone
  • Leslie Eric Bradley Stonhill
  • Albert George Thackray
  • Alfred C D Webb
  • William Taylor Forest Wightman

Non Commissioned Air Crew

  • AG Boggis
  • Thomas Aelfryn Howells
  • LT Jackson
  • H Powell
  • [-] Scadding
  • Thomas Muir Scott
  • Jack Shearsmith

Commissioned Officer (Ground)

  • James R Ackers
  • Maurice E Atkinson

Ground Personnel

The squadron’s record book contains little or no information regarding Commissioned Officers or Non Commissioned Other Ranks that were on strength of the squadron during the year who carried out:

  • Daily servicing, ongoing maintenance and scheduled servicing of squadron aircraft and equipment
  • Other squadron related technical and administrative duties (such as Logistics, Air Operations Support, Intelligence, Administration and Personnel / Medical support)

However, the following page contains information on those that are recorded as being on strength of the squadron between 1929 to 1940

– Ground Personnel 1929 to 1940 –