1929 Personnel

Squadron Command

Commanding Officer:Flight Lieutenant LM Elworthy
12/03/1929: Handed over to Squadron Leader GSM Insall VC MC.
10/07/1929: Handed over to Squadron Leader BE Harrison


No. of Commissioned Officers (Air Crew)Not Recorded
No. of Non Commissioned Air CrewNot Recorded
No. of Commissioned Officers (Ground)Not Recorded
No. of Non Commissioned Other Ranks (Ground)Not Recorded

The following are known to have been on strength of (or attached to) the squadron in 1929:

Commissioned Officer (Air Crew)

  • Arthur Edward Beilby
  • John Coverdale
  • Harold E Dicken
  • Robert Duncanson
  • LM Elworthy
  • Reginald R Frith
  • Frederick F Garraway
  • [-] Harcourt-Slade
  • Bernard E Harrison
  • Michael T M Hyland
  • Gilbert S M Insall
  • NH Janabi (Iraqi Army)
  • Stewart S Mackay
  • (Possibly) Brian Arthur Oakley
  • Francis Andrew Joseph Pollock-Gore
  • KG Vandyck
  • Harold Walker
  • Robert A Whyte

Non Commissioned Air Crew

  • AG Boggis
  • Edward James Corden
  • [-] Goldsmith
  • GF Harcourt-Powell
  • JE Hards
  • RV Martin
  • M McIntyre
  • Frederick Ernest O’Meara
  • Charles Edward Rolfe
  • John Charles Sowden

Commissioned Officer (Ground)

  • James R Ackers
  • James Edwin Reynolds

Strength of Flights on 30th September 1929

Ground Personnel

The squadron’s record book contains little or no information regarding Commissioned Officers or Non Commissioned Other Ranks that were on strength of the squadron during the year who carried out:

  • Daily servicing, ongoing maintenance and scheduled servicing of squadron aircraft and equipment
  • Other squadron related technical and administrative duties (such as Logistics, Air Operations Support, Intelligence, Administration and Personnel / Medical support)

More information can be found on the following page

– Ground Personnel 1929 to 1940 –

Personnel Losses

The following lost their life whilst serving with the squadron during the year:

  • None Recorded