1962 Personnel

The squadron reforms at Coningsby 1962 [Courtesy of Marham Aviation Heritage Centre]

Squadron Command

Commanding OfficerAA Smailes
A Flight CommanderGC Goodyer
B Flight CommanderDA Thomas
C Flight CommanderDB Craig
Electrical OfficerM Sayer


No. of Commissioned Officers (Air Crew) and Commissioned Officers (Ground):11 (2 constituted crews)
No of Non Commissioned Other Ranks (Ground):Varied between 57 and 61

The following are known to have been on strength of (or attached to) the squadron in November / December 1962:

Commissioned Officers (Air Crew)

  • Pilot
    • DB Craig
    • GG Ness
    • AA Smailes
    • DA Thomas
  • Co-Pilot
    • B Dorrington
    • JA Edwards
  • Nav (Plotter)
    • AR Court
    • GC Goodyer
    • SMR Webster
  • Nav (Radar)
    • J Shaw
    • CF Stevens
  • AEO
    • SJ Dunstan

GG Ness slipped on ice and injured his leg and was admitted to hospital, returning to the squadron (in plaster) on 13th December 1962

Commissioned Officers (Ground)

  • Engineering Officer
    • M Sayer

Non Commissioned Other Ranks (Ground)

The squadron’s record book contains little or no information regarding Non Commissioned Other Ranks that were on strength of the squadron during the year who carried out:

  • Daily inspection, servicing and preparation of squadron aircraft, in readiness for air operations 
  • Squadron related Administrative Duties

However, some listings have been found (eg on squadron movement orders) and the names on these lists have been included on the following page:

– Ground Personnel 1962 to 1982 –

Constituted Crews

  1. Smailes / Edwards / Webster / Shaw / Dunstan
  2. Ness / Dorrington / Court / Stevens / –