1935 Personnel (UK)

Squadron Command

Commanding OfficerSquadron Leader V Buxton OBE
06/08/1935: Handed over to Squadron Leader AP Ritchie
22/09/1935: Handed over to Squadron Leader C.W. Hill


No. of Commissioned Officers (Air Crew)Not Recorded
No. of Non Commissioned Air CrewNot Recorded
No. of Commissioned Officers (Ground)Not Recorded
No. of Non Commissioned Other Ranks Not Recorded

The following are known to have been on strength of (or attched to) the squadron (in the UK) in 1935:

Commissioned Officer (Air Crew)

  • Leonard Shaw Meadows Bailey
  • Harold Rice Bardon
  • Horace Paul Burwood
  • Vincent Buxton
  • Michael Henry deLisle Everest
  • Clifton Winnington Grannum
  • Frank E Groce
  • Cedric Waters Hill
  • Augustus A Jones
  • Archibald Hugh Herbert MacDonald
  • Reginald H Nash
  • John Humphrey Ridding Oldfield
  • William James Pond
  • Alan Patrick Ritchie
  • Donald C Stone
  • Albert George Thackray
  • William Daniel Woods

Non Commissioned Air Crew

  • AG Boggis
  • Harold Frederick Bucknell
  • Thomas Aelfryn Howells
  • LT Jackson
  • Ronald John Neil MacLachlan
  • H Powell
  • Jack Shearsmith

Commissioned Officer (Ground)

  • Eric Arthur Biddle
  • John Edward Valentine  Tyzack

Ground Personnel

The squadron’s record book contains little or no information regarding Commissioned Officers or Non Commissioned Other Ranks that were on strength of the squadron during the year who carried out:

  • Daily servicing, ongoing maintenance and scheduled servicing of squadron aircraft and equipment
  • Other squadron related technical and administrative duties (such as Logistics, Air Operations Support, Intelligence, Administration and Personnel / Medical support)

More information can be found on the following page

– Ground Personnel 1929 to 1940 –